header site background image

Priority site

Canada Malting Co.

5020-5070 Saint-Ambroise Street

4130

Views on this page

History of the site

The Canada Malting Co. built a malt house in 1905 along the Lachine Canal, when the are was the largest industrial district in the country. At the time, all ships bound for the Great Lakes had to go through the canal. For transportation by train and by ship, the malting complex was in a choice location both for receiving the raw material, barley, and for sending out the processed product: malt.

The site was also used to germinate grain, particularly barley, used to make beer. The company was a major supplier of raw material for Montreal’s brewing industry. In 1963, eighteen silos were added to the complex. With the construction of a new malting plant in the Port of Montreal along the Bonaventure Expressway in the 1980s, the silos gradually fell out of use. Today, they are completely abandoned and have fallen victim to vandalism.

 

 

 

Specific characteristics of the site

To the west, the 11 buildings and silos from 1905, precast terracotta clay modules with stone foundations, were built by a company in Minneapolis, in the United States, a city known for its innovative grain silos. These terracotta silos are the last of their kind in North America. To the east, the 18 concrete silos were built in 1963. This is a monumental complex endowed with many construction details including its neo-Roman design; for example, the arched windows on the façade and on the upper floors at the rear of the building and the brickwork of the cornices between the floors. The building is representative of an industrial architecture that combines the work of architects and engineers.

Threats

Operations at 5052 Saint-Ambroise ceased in 1985 in favour of a new Canada Malting plant at the Bickerdike Pier in the Port of Montreal. Since then, the former plant has deteriorated to such an extent that recovery seems impossible. The site is exposed to the elements, with water infiltration that has caused serious structural damage. Nevertheless, this structure remains an emblematic landmark on Montreal’s landscape.

Current status

For the last few years, a real estate developer and a citizens group have proposed two very different projects. Renwick Development hopes to build 220 housing units, 30% of which would be for social housing. The project would also include some 60 artists studios and several green spaces. The À nous la Malting collective, which has been mobilizing since 2013, would like to see an entirely community-based project that would include 200 housing units, a daycare, community gardens, a market, a co-op café and a greenhouse on the top of the silos. Both groups have stated their commitment to preserve and restore several features of the Canada Malting Co.

Actions of Heritage Montréal

Heritage Montréal is very attached to Canada Malting co. which is a formidable witness to the brewing history of the metropolis.

In its 2018-02 annual resolution, Heritage Montréal publicly expressed concern about the historic Molson Brewery complex and heritage industrial complexes, mentioning in particular the Canada Malting located along the Lachine Canal and asking that:

  • The City of Montréal, on the occasion of projects for the former Molson brewery, is diligently adopting an effective strategy on industrial heritage, its enhancement and its reallocation within the framework of the development of the city and its neighborhoods, taking into account the reflections carried out in Montréal since the 1983 international congress of which Heritage Montréal was one of the organizers, but also achievements such as the conversion of Angus factories and foreign examples and international principles adopted by ICOMOS in 2011.

In 2019 and 2020, Renwick Development and À nous la Malting both contacted Heritage Montréal to discuss their respective projects and the potential for requalification of the industrial complex.

Heritage Montréal continues to lobby various stakeholders so that the rehabilitation of this formidable site is worthy of the importance it has for the industrial memory of Montréal.

  • Municipality or borough

    Le Sud-Ouest borough

  • Issues

    Mechanisms for protection

    Urban Development

    Urban landscape

  • Owner(s)

    Private

  • Threat(s)

    Vacant

    Demand for land, speculation

    Vandalism

  • Conception

    Architects: David Jerome Spence (1905), Otto Luemberg (1950) Engineers: Barnett and Record Company (1905 terracotta silos), John S. Metcalfe Co. Ltd (1930 concrete silos)

  • Manager(s)

    Canada Malting Co. (A GrainCorp Business)

  • Categorie(s)

    Industrial

  • Construction year

    1905

  • Recognition status

    Building of exceptional heritage value Located in an area of exceptional heritage value

background image

Take action!

The actions of Heritage Montreal are sometimes direct and public, sometimes more discreet, but heritage is everyone’s concern. With Memento, we want to support your ambitions, your ideas and your actions. Whether your role is that of an explorer, revealer, protector, ideator or investor, this platform will help us to maintain together a coherent action to protect and enhance our metropolitan heritage.

Toolkit

News and medias

Stay tuned for the latest developments on this issue

November 29 2021

Canada Malting Co.

Quelle autre vie pour le patrimoine industriel ?

La Presse

Read full article
See all the news

Join the discussion

How do you see this Montreal site? What legacy has it left us? What future can we create for it? Where to start to get there? Who wants to participate in the project?

You have questions? Want to do more, but lack the information? Consult our toolkit to learn more about the heritage of the Montreal metropolitan area, the preservation mechanisms in place and possible actions.

header site background image

Site prioritaire

Canada Malting Co.

5020-5070, rue Saint-Ambroise, Montréal

2921

Visites sur la fiche

Histoire des lieux

Publiée le : 22 octobre 2015

Dernière modification le : 29 mars 2023

La compagnie Canada Maltage Limitée (autrefois Canada Malting Co.) fait édifier une malterie en 1905 sur les bords du canal de Lachine. On y fait germer des céréales, et surtout de l’orge, qui servent à la fabrication de la bière. C’est donc un important fournisseur de matière première à l’industrie brassicole de Montréal. 18 silos sont ajoutés au complexe en 1963.

Avec la construction d’une nouvelle usine dans le port de Montréal le long de l’autoroute Bonaventure, dans les années 1980, les silos du complexe sont de moins en moins utilisés. Ils sont aujourd’hui désaffectés et victimes de vandalisme.

slider image

Canada Malting, vue de la rue Saint-Rémi

Source: Daniel Bromberg, 2021

slider image

Vue sur les silos en terracotta et la maison rose

Source: Daniel Bromberg, 2021

slider image

Canada Malting vue du Canal Lachine

Source: Daniel Bromberg, 2021

slider image

Canada Malting

Source: Daniel Bromberg, 2021

keyboard_arrow_left
keyboard_arrow_right

Caractéristiques spécifiques des lieux

À l’ouest, les onze bâtiments et silos de 1905, en modules préfabriqués de terre cuite avec fondations en pierre, sont construits par une compagnie de Minneapolis aux Etats-Unis, une ville reconnue pour ses innovations en matière de silos à grain. Ces silos en terracotta constituent les derniers du genre en Amérique du nord. À l’est, les 18 silos de béton apparaissent en 1963. L’ensemble est monumental et enrichi de moult détails de construction dont des motifs d’inspiration néo-romane ; par exemple, les fenêtres cintrées en façade et aux étages supérieurs de la partie arrière et l’appareillage de brique au niveau des corniches entre les étages. L’immeuble est représentatif d’une architecture industrielle qui réunit le travail d’architectes et d’ingénieurs.

Menaces

Les activités du 5052 Saint-Ambroise cessent en 1985 en faveur de la nouvelle usine du Canada Malting au quai Bickerdike du port de Montréal. Depuis ce temps, l’ancienne usine se détériore à un tel point qu’elle semble irrécupérable. L’endroit étant laissé ouvert aux éléments naturels, les infiltrations d’eau ont fait de graves dommages à la structure du bâtiment. La structure fait malgré tout toujours figure de repère emblématique dans le paysage montréalais.

Actualités

Depuis quelques années, un promoteur immobilier et un collectif de citoyens proposent deux projets distincts. Le promoteur Renwick Development souhaite aménager 220 logements, dont 30% seraient du logement social. Le projet inclut également l’aménagement d’une soixantaine d’ateliers d’artistes et plusieurs espaces verts. Pour sa part, le collectif À nous la Malting, qui se mobilise depuis 2013, désire développer un projet entièrement communautaire. Il désire y aménager 200 unités de logement, une garderie, des jardins communautaires, un marché, un café-coop et même une serre au-dessus des silos. Les deux groupes affirment vouloir conserver et restaurer plusieurs éléments de la Canada Malting co.

Actions d’Héritage Montréal

Héritage Montréal est très attaché à la Canada Malting co. qui constitue un témoin formidable de l’histoire brassicole de la métropole.

Dans sa résolution annuelle de 2018-02, Héritage Montréal s’inquiétait publiquement quant à l’ensemble historique de la brasserie Molson et les complexes industriels patrimoniaux, mentionnant notamment la Canada Malting située le long du canal de Lachine et demandant que:

  • La Ville de Montréal, à l’occasion de projets pour l’ancienne brasserie Molson, se dote diligemment d’une stratégie efficace sur le patrimoine industriel, sa mise en valeur et sa réaffectation dans le cadre du développement de la métropole et ses quartiers, en tenant compte des réflexions menées à Montréal depuis le congrès international de 1983 dont Héritage Montréal était un des organisateurs, mais aussi des réalisations comme la reconversion des usines Angus et des exemples étrangers et des principes internationaux adoptés par l’ICOMOS en 2011.

En 2019 et 2020, Renwick Development et À nous la Malting ont tous deux pris contact avec HM afin d’échanger au sujet de leur projet respectif et sur le potentiel de requalification de l’ensemble industriel.

Héritage Montréal continue de faire pression auprès de différents acteurs afin que la réhabilitation de ce site formidable soit digne de l’importance qu’il revêt pour la mémoire industrielle de Montréal.

  • Municipalité ou arrondissement

    Arrondissement du Sud-Ouest

  • Enjeu(x)

    Protection du patrimoine

    Développement urbain

    Paysage urbain

  • Propriétaire(s)

    Privé: entreprise

  • Menace(s)

    Vacant

    Pression foncière et spéculation

    Vandalisme

  • Conception

    Architectes: David Jerome Spence (bâtiment de la malterie, 1905), Otto Luemberg (bâtiment de la malterie, 1950); Ingénieurs: Barnett and Record Company (Silos de terracotta de 1905), John S. Metcalfe Co. Ltd (Silos de béton de 1930)

  • Responsable(s)

    Propriétaire

  • Catégorie(s)

    Industriel

  • Année de construction

    1905 (construction); 1930 (silos de béton); vers 1950 (autres bâtiments de la malterie)

  • Statuts de reconnaissance

    Immeuble de valeur patrimoniale exceptionnelle; Situé dans un secteur de valeur patrimoniale exceptionnelle – Canal de Lachine; Situé dans un secteur d’intérêt archéologique à fort potentiel

background image

Passez à l’action!

Les actions d’Héritage Montréal sont parfois directes et publiques, parfois plus discrètes, mais le patrimoine, c’est l’affaire de tous. Avec Memento, nous souhaitons mieux vous accompagner et catalyser vos ambitions, vos idées et vos actions. Que votre rôle soit celui d’explorateur, de révélateur, de protecteur, d’idéateur ou d’investisseur, cette plateforme nous aidera à maintenir ensemble une action cohérente pour protéger et mettre en valeur le patrimoine métropolitain.

Découvrir la boîte à outils

Actualités et couverture médiatique

Restez à l’affût des derniers développements de ce dossier

29 novembre 2021

Canada Malting Co.

Quelle autre vie pour le patrimoine industriel ?

La Presse

Lire l’article complet

16 mai 2021

Canada Malting Co.

Verrues urbaines

La Presse

Lire l’article complet
Voir toutes les actualités

Rejoignez la discussion!

Quel regard portez-vous sur ce site montréalais? Quel héritage nous a-t-il laissé? Quel avenir peut-on lui créer? Par où commencer pour y arriver? Qui veut participer au projet?

Vous avez des questions? Vous souhaitez en faire davantage, mais il vous manque de l’information? Consultez notre boîte à outils pour en apprendre plus sur le patrimoine de la région métropolitaine de Montréal, les mécanismes de préservation en place et les actions possibles.