header site background image

Archives

Silo No. 5

Pointe-du-Moulin

By virtue of its size, siting and volume, Silo No. 5 creates a monumental alignment stretching nearly 400 metres along the Pointe-du-Moulin in Montréal’s Old Port. It consists of three distinct parts linked together by aerial galleries. With its floating elevators which allowed the offloading of grain from the holds of lakers and the simultaneous loading of transatlantic vessels without ever coming into contact with the quays, the silo demonstrates the technological prowess of a bygone era.

24751

Views on this page

Published on : October 06 2015

Last modified on : May 03 2016

Silo No. 5 was completed in four stages (1906, 1913, 1924 and 1958). Construction on Silo No. 5 was begun by the Grand Trunk Railway in 1903. In the late 19th century and for several decades thereafter, grain was the main export product transiting through the Port of Montreal. Competition from U.S. ports was strong, so the decision was made to equip Montreal’s with grain elevators and make it the world’s leading grain port by 1928.

 

Silo No. 5 is the only extant example of the evolution of grain elevators in the 20th century. With the demolition of Silo No. 1 and Silo No. 2, it is now, along with the Old Port’s conveyor pier tower, the last vestige of Old Montreal’s 20th-century harbour panorama. Its heritage value has been recognized by the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office. The silo, now owned by the Canada Lands Corporation, has stood abandoned since 1996, and is suffering from a lack of maintenance and zero public access.

 

Heritage Montreal has been invited to sit on the committee that will be involved in mapping out a master plan for the site, which Canada Lands hopes to make public by 2017

slider image

Silo No 5

keyboard_arrow_left
keyboard_arrow_right
  • Municipality or borough

    Ville-Marie

  • Issues

    Urban Development

    Urban landscape

  • Owner(s)

    Public; governmental; federal

  • Threat(s)

    Vacant

    Inappropriate/incompatible use

  • Conception

    John S. Metcalfe (Elevator B, Annex 1) C.D. Howe Firm (Elevator B-1)

  • Manager(s)

    Canada Lands Company

  • Categorie(s)

    Industrial

  • Construction year

    Elevator « B » : 1903-1906; Annex 1: 1913-14; Annex 2: 1923-1924; Elevator B-1 : 1957-59

background image

Take action!

The actions of Heritage Montreal are sometimes direct and public, sometimes more discreet, but heritage is everyone’s concern. With Memento, we want to support your ambitions, your ideas and your actions. Whether your role is that of an explorer, revealer, protector, ideator or investor, this platform will help us to maintain together a coherent action to protect and enhance our metropolitan heritage.

Toolkit

Join the discussion

How do you see this Montreal site? What legacy has it left us? What future can we create for it? Where to start to get there? Who wants to participate in the project?

You have questions? Want to do more, but lack the information? Consult our toolkit to learn more about the heritage of the Montreal metropolitan area, the preservation mechanisms in place and possible actions.

header site background image

Archives

Silo nº 5

Pointe-du-Moulin

6644

Visites sur la fiche

Publiée le : 01 octobre 2015

Dernière modification le : 12 novembre 2020

Par sa taille, son implantation et sa volumétrie, le silo no. 5 forme un alignement monumental de près de 400 mètres le long de la Pointe-du-Moulin. Il est composé de trois parties distinctes reliées entre elles par des galeries aériennes. Avec les élévateurs flottants du port, qui permettaient le déchargement des céréales des cales des lacquiers et le chargement simultané des navires transatlantiques sans toucher aux quais, ce silo démontre les prouesses technologiques d’une époque.

slider image

Silo No 5

keyboard_arrow_left
keyboard_arrow_right

Le complexe du silo no. 5 a été construit en quatre étapes : 1906, 1913, 1924 et 1958. À la fin du 19e siècle puis pendant de nombreuses décennies, les céréales sont le principal produit d’exportation qui transite par le port de Montréal. La concurrence avec les ports américains est forte, alors on dote le port de Montréal de silos afin d’en faire le premier port céréalier au monde. Le chemin de fer du Grand Tronc commence la construction du silo no. 5 en 1903.

Le silo no. 5 constitue l’unique exemple de l’évolution architecturale des silos à céréales au cours du 20e siècle. Les silos nos. 1 et 2 ayant été démolis, il est, avec la tour marine du quai des convoyeurs du Vieux-Port, le dernier vestige du panorama portuaire du Vieux-Montréal de l’époque. Son intérêt patrimonial a été reconnu par le Bureau d’examen des édifices du patrimoine du Canada. Propriété de la Société immobilière du Canada (SIC), le silo no. 5 est désaffecté depuis 1996 et souffre d’un manque d’entretien et de l’absence d’un accès public.

Héritage Montréal a été invité à faire partie du comité qui accompagnera le processus d’élaboration du plan directeur pour ce site, que la SIC souhaite présenter d’ici 2017.

  • Municipalité ou arrondissement

    Ville-Marie

  • Enjeu(x)

    Développement urbain

    Paysage urbain

  • Propriétaire(s)

    Public; gouvernemental fédéral

  • Menace(s)

    Vacant

    Usage inapproprié ou incompatible

  • Conception

    John S. Metcalfe (Élévateur B, Annexe 1) firme C.D. Howe (Élévateur B-1)

  • Responsable(s)

    Société immobilière du Canada

  • Catégorie(s)

    Industriel

  • Année de construction

    Élévateur « B » : 1903-1906; Annexe 1: 1913-14; Annexe 2: 1923-1924; Élévateur B-1 : 1957-59

background image

Passez à l’action!

Les actions d’Héritage Montréal sont parfois directes et publiques, parfois plus discrètes, mais le patrimoine, c’est l’affaire de tous. Avec Memento, nous souhaitons mieux vous accompagner et catalyser vos ambitions, vos idées et vos actions. Que votre rôle soit celui d’explorateur, de révélateur, de protecteur, d’idéateur ou d’investisseur, cette plateforme nous aidera à maintenir ensemble une action cohérente pour protéger et mettre en valeur le patrimoine métropolitain.

Découvrir la boîte à outils

Actualités et couverture médiatique

Restez à l’affût des derniers développements de ce dossier

22 novembre 2016

Silo nº 5

Wake-up call pour le Silo no 5

Journal Métro

Lire l’article complet
Voir toutes les actualités

Rejoignez la discussion!

Quel regard portez-vous sur ce site montréalais? Quel héritage nous a-t-il laissé? Quel avenir peut-on lui créer? Par où commencer pour y arriver? Qui veut participer au projet?

Vous avez des questions? Vous souhaitez en faire davantage, mais il vous manque de l’information? Consultez notre boîte à outils pour en apprendre plus sur le patrimoine de la région métropolitaine de Montréal, les mécanismes de préservation en place et les actions possibles.